Let’s talk about the saxon genitive – also known as the possessive!

It might seem strange, but it’s very simple.

Three components: the owner, the object, and ‘s.

Owner + ‘s + object.

Anna’s dog. Joe’s house. Mickey Mouse’s gloves.

And… surprise! Jessie’s Girl! Yes! This post was just an excuse to post this classic 80s song about romantic jealousy. Poor Rick Springfield… he’s in love with his best friend’s girlfriend.

You know I wish that I had Jessie’s girl…

I wish that I had Jessie’s girl…

Where can I find a woman like that?

Poor Jessie!

Hint: any time you want to use a possessive pronoun (my, yours, his, etc) you can use the saxon genitive!

Leave a Reply

