Helpful Hints: Reported Speech

Tense changes in reported speech

Present -> past.

“My plane arrives at five.” -> Annie said her plane arrived at five.

Past/present perfect -> past perfect.

  • “I waited the whole afternoon for you!” -> She said she had waited the whole afternoon for him.
  • “I’ve never lied to you.” -> He told me he had never lied to me.

Note that will becomes would, can becomes could, must becomes had to, may becomes might.

Commands and requests: tell/ask + infinitive.

  • “Clear up the kitchen!” -> Mr Kloof told us to clear up the kitchen.
  • “Please help me.” -> She asked us to help her.
Leave a Reply

