HELPFUL HINTS: Modal Verbs

COULD

  • He could at least say he’s sorry!
  • Could you tell me which bus goes to Harrods?

WOULD

  • I would help you but I’m too busy right now.
  • Under the circumstances, what would you do?

SHOULD

  • What do you think I should do?
  • Thanks for the gift, but really, you shouldn’t have!

MAY

  • The train will be crowded so we may have to stand.
  • He may have rung, but I was in the bath.

MIGHT

  • We might have to wait for a table to come free.
  • You never know – it might even be true!

 

Leave a Reply

