Helpful Hints Grammar: The Past Progress

Helpful Hints

Grammar: The Past Progressive
The #pastprogressive is used to talk about something happening during a period in the past.

I’m sorry I missed the party. I wasn’t feeling well.
Your phone was busy all evening. Who were you talking to?
This time last year, we were lying on a beach in Cuba.
Sometimes two past activities are happening at the same time:
While I was driving, I was listening to Abba.

Sometimes a simple past action interrupts the past progressive activity:
I was taking a bath, when the phone rang.

Leave a Reply

